Indian Rupee

  • Currency Symbol: Rs. ₹
  • Coins: 10 Paise 20 Paise 25 Paise 50 Paise 1Rupee 2Rupee 5Rupee
  • Banknotes: ₹5 ₹10 ₹20 ₹50 ₹100 ₹500 ₹2000
  • The Indian currency is called the Indian Rupee, and the coins are called the paise
  • One Indian Rupee is made up of 100 paise.
  • India was one of the first issuers of coins (circa: 6th Century BC), and as a result it has seen a wide range of monetary units throughout its history.
  • These coins are called 'punch-marked' coins because of their manufacturing technique.
  • This was heavily influenced by the Afghan Sher Shah Suri (1540 to 1545) who introduced the silver Rupayya or Rupee coin.

Don't forget to share this pointer!

View more comments +