Tour de France

  • The Tour de France is an annual multiple stage bicycle race primarily held in France, while also occasionally making passes through nearby countries.
  • The race was first organised in 1903 to increase paper sales for the magazine “L’Auto” it is currently run by the Amaury Sport Organisation.
  • The Tour originally ran around the perimeter of France.
  • The modern Tour typically has 21 daily stages & not more than 3,500 km. The shortest and longest Tours were 2,428 and 5,745 km in 1904 and 1926, respectively.
  • The Tour de France is the world's largest annual sporting event. It starts at the end of June/beginning of July and lasts 3 weeks.
  • The Grand Depart is the opening of the race of the Tour de France. The Grand Départ is regularly held outside of France - in 2012 it was hosted by Belgium.
  • A worldwide television audience of 3.5 billion people watch the Tour de France annually and over 188 countries around the world broadcast the Tour de France.
  • The last hour of every stage is broadcast live across western Europe.
  • The Tour de France attracts 12 million spectators along the route in a typical year's race.

Don't forget to share this pointer!

View more comments +