Stages Of Alzheimer's Disease

  • Alzheimer’s typically progresses slowly in three general stages: early, middle and late (sometimes referred to as mild, moderate and severe in a medical context).
  • The symptoms of Alzheimer’s worsen over time, but because the disease affects people in different ways, the rate of progression varies.
  • On average, a person with Alzheimer’s may live four to eight years after diagnosis, but can live as long as 20 years, depending on other factors.
  • The following stages provide an overall idea of how abilities change and should be used as a general guide. Stages may overlap, making it difficult to place a person living with Alzheimer’s in a specific stage.
  • Early-stage Alzheimer’s
  • In the early stage, a person may function independently. Those close to the individual may begin to notice difficulties, including: 1. Problems coming up with the right word or name. 2.Challenges performing familiar task
  • 3. Forgetting material that was just read. 4. Getting lost in familiar places 5. Increasing trouble with planning or organizing.
  • Middle-stage Alzheimer’s:
  • Middle-stage Alzheimer’s is typically the longest stage and can last for many years. As the disease progresses, the person living with Alzheimer’s will require a greater level of care.
  • At this point, symptoms will be noticeable to others and may include: 1. Forgetfulness of events or about one’s own personal history.2. Feeling frustrated, especially in socially or mentally challenging situation.
  • 3. Confusion about where they are or what day it is 4. The need for help choosing proper clothing for the season or occasion. 5. » Trouble controlling bladder and bowels
  • 6.Changes in sleep patterns, such as sleeping during the day and restlessness at night 7. An increased risk of wandering and becoming lost. 8. Personality and behavioral changes,
  • Late-stage Alzheimer’s:
  • In the final stage of the disease, significant personality changes may occur and extensive help with daily activities and personal care will be required.
  • At this stage, individuals may: 1 Lose awareness of recent experiences as well as of their surroundings. 2 Experience changes in physical abilities, including walking, sitting and, eventually, swallowing.
  • 3. Have greater difficulty communicating. 4. Become increasingly vulnerable to infections, especially pneumonia.

Don't forget to share this pointer!

View more comments +